16.5 C

Recent Match Report – India vs South Africa 1st T20I 2022

Must read

South Africa won the toss and chose to bowl vs India

After India lost captain KL Rahul and left-arm spinner Kuldeep Yadav on the eve of the series due to injury, South Africa were left without Aiden Markram for the first match following a positive Covid-19 test. The series is being played without pandemic-related restrictions and will continue as usual, with all other players testing negative.
Markram’s unavailability forced South Africa to juggle their batting order, and will see David Miller come in at No.4, having usually batted at No.6 for the national side. Quinton de Kock, Temba Bavuma and Rassie van der Dussen make up the top three, leaving no room for Reeza Hendricks, with Tristan Stubbs to debut at No.5.

South Africa have included both their seam-bowling allrounders, Dwaine Pretorius and Wayne Parnell, and both specialist spinners, Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi. With two quicks, Kagiso Rabada and fit-again Anrich Nortje, who plays his first match since last year’s T20 World Cup, Lungi Ngidi and Marco Jansen were benched.

India welcomed back Dinesh Karthik to the middle-order, after a more than three year absence from the team, but did not entrust him with the wicket-keeping gloves. Rishabh Pant, who is the second-youngest man to lead India in a T20I, was earmarked to keep.

India went with two spinners in Axar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal, alongside three seamers plus Hardik Pandya.

India: 1 Ishan Kishan, 2 Ruturaj Gaikwad, 3 Shreyas Iyer, 4 Rishabh Pant (capt, wk), 5 Hardik Pandya, 6 Dinesh Karthik, 7 Axar Patel, 8 Harshal Patel, 9 Avesh Khan, 10 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 11 Yuzvendra Chahal.

South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Temba Bavuma (capt), 3 Rassie van der Dussen, 4 David Miller, 5 Tristan Stubbs, 6 Dwaine Pretorius, 7 Wayne Parnell, 8 Kagiso Rabada, 9 Keshav Maharaj, 10 Anrich Nortje, 11 Tabraiz Shamsi

Source link

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article