FIFA World Cup Winners, Runners-Up, Results, and Scores from 1930 to 2018 | FIFA World Cup History

FIFA World Cup is likely the foremost standard sporting event in the world, drawing billions of tv viewers each tournament. the first competition for the cup was organized in 1930 by the Fédération International Football Association (FIFA) and was won by Uruguay. FIFA World Cup history is packed with legendary names, groups, and tournaments. The FIFA World Cup is a quadrennial football tournament contested by the men’s football team of the international associations.

FIFA World Cup History

The FIFA World Cup (also known as the Soccer World Cup, the Soccer World Cup, or just the World Cup) is a world football competition contested by members of the International Federation of Association Football, better called FIFA. the present format of the tournament involves thirty-two teams competition for the title. A qualification phase, that presently takes place over the preceding 3 years, is employed to work out which teams qualify for the tournament. The hosts of the tournament qualify automatically. 

FIFA World Cup 2022 Schedule here

France is the current FIFA World Cup Champion team. The final of the twenty-first FIFA World Cup was played in Russia. The match was opposed by France and Croatia. Antoine Griezmann was Men of the match in the World Cup. The FIFA world cup is a quadrennial international association football competition opposed since 1930 by the men’s national teams of the member nations of FIFA, the sport’s international governing body.

List of FIFA World Cup Winners

A total of twenty-one World Cup tournaments are won by eight national teams. Brazil has won 5 times, and they are the only team to own played in each tournament. the other World Cup winners are Germany and Italy, with four titles each; Argentina, France, and inaugural winner Uruguay, with 2 titles each; and England and Spain, with one title each. the world cup final match is the last one in the competition, played by the only 2 teams remaining in contention, and therefore the result determines which country is declared the FIFA World Cup Champion.

FIFA World Cup Winners

YearHostWinnerScoresRunners-upThird PlaceTotal TeamsMatches
1930UruguayUruguay4-2ArgentinaUnited States1316
1942Editions not played because of World War II.
1946Editions not played because of World War II.
1954SwitzerlandWest Germany3-2HungaryAustria1626
1966EnglandEngland4-2West GermanyPortugal1632
1970MexicoBrazil4-1ItalyWest Germany1632
1974West GermanyWest Germany2-1NetherlandsPoland1638
1982SpainItaly3-1West GermanyPoland2452
1986MexicoArgentina3-2West GermanyFrance2452
1990ItalyWest Germany1-0ArgentinaItaly2452
1994United StatesBrazil0-0ItalySweden2452
2002South Korea, JapanBrazil2-0GermanyTurkey3264
2010South AfricaSpain1-0NetherlandsGermany3264

There will be in a total of 64 matches will be played in the 28 days in the FIFA World Cup 2022. There are 48 matches in the group stage and sixteen matches in the knockout rounds.

Commonly asked questions:
1. When was the first FIFA World Cup held?
The first FIFA World Cup was held in the year 1930, with Uruguay rising as the champion.

2. Who won the last FIFA World Cup?
France. They defeated Croatia 4-2 to win the FIFA World Cup 2018.

3. When is the next FIFA World Cup in 2022?
The FIFA World Cup 2022 is going to be the next FIFA world cup and will be held in Qatar within the year 2022. it’ll be the twenty-second edition of the tournament and is formally called Qatar World Cup 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.