18.7 C

BCCI announces Team India squad for fifth Test against England at Edgbaston

Must read

India to play a practice match against Leicestershire from June 24 before the Test | GettyThe Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the Indian squad for the rescheduled fifth Test against England, which will be played from July 1 at the Edgbaston ground in Birmingham. This is part of the five-Test series in 2021 which India leads 2-1.

A lot has changed from those four Test matches last year as Virat Kohli stepped down as captain of the Indian Test team and Rohit Sharma took over the helm. Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane, along with Ishant Sharma and Wriddhiman Saha lost their places in the Indian squad.

This will be the first time Rohit Sharma will be captaining India in England and much will be expected from him. BCCI decided to rest the first-choice Test players from South Africa and Ireland T20I series and they will travel with the rest of chosen squad to England in mid-June.

IND v SA 2022: BCCI announces India squad for the T20I series against South Africa

Indian team is scheduled to play a practice match against Leicestershire from June 24 to Jun 27 in Grace Road, Leicestershire and it is expected that India will field a full-strength team to get much-needed practice after getting out of the IPL mode.

The Test side saw the return of Cheteshwar Pujara into the squad after being axed for the Sri Lanka Tests at home. Rohit Sharma will captain the side, while KL Rahul was named the vice-captain, and Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, and Hanuma Vihari helmed the batting unit. 

Rishabh Pant and KS Bharat were chosen as wicketkeepers, while R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja were the two spinners picked. 

The pace department saw the likes of Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj and Umesh Yadav being supported by Shardul Thakur and Prasidh Krishna.

Here is the India squad for the fifth Test against England:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant (WK), KS Bharat (WK), R Jadeja, R Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna

Source link

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article