13.9 C

Australia announce full-strength squads for all-format tour of Sri Lanka

Must read

Australia's tour of Sri Lanka will run from June 7 to July 12 | GettyAustralia on Friday (April 29) picked a full-strength squad for their upcoming tour of Sri Lanka, comprising three T20Is, five ODIs and two Tests.

A total of 34 players were named for the all-format matches, slated to be held from June 7 to July 12.

Opening batter Marcus Harris didn’t find a place in the 16-man Test squad, which will play two matches in Galle.

Star players such as Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Steve Smith, Matthew Wade and Glenn Maxwell have all returned to the limited-overs squads, having missed the recent white-ball series in Pakistan.

Test skipper Pat Cummins won’t feature in the T20I series while seasoned leg-spinner Adam Zampa will miss the entire tour due to the impending birth of his first child.

With two four-day games scheduled for Australia ‘A’ in Hambantota ahead of the Test series, some of the young players will still have the chance to push their cases for inclusion in the Test series.

“It’s incredibly exciting to have an Australia A component which offers the further flexibility and opportunity for players to be available for and cross over into all squads,” said selection chief George Bailey. “That could be from a test or white-ball preparation perspective or an opportunity to impress at an international level.”

Australia squads:

Test: Pat Cummins (captain), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

ODI: Aaron Finch (captain), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

T20I: Aaron Finch (captain), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner

(With AP inputs)

Source link

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article